An Introduction to the Supernatural

This week I got the opportunity to interview the author of An Introduction to the Supernatural, Janet Gant. Janet writes this book not as a psychic herself, but instead about the experiences of those using clairvoyants. Here’s what she has to say:

What areas of the supernatural does An Introduction to the Supernatural cover?
There is a description of Psychics, Tarot card reading, Astrology, Numerology, Palmistry, Tasseographers, Face reading, Dowsing, Spiritualism, Mediums, Clairvoyants, A Séance, and Ghosts.
 
There are a lot of books about the supernatural out there, what is it about your book that makes it different to other books in this genre?
I think I’m the first writer to include the Outcomes of each reading.
 
As an author what is your view point of the supernatural and fortune telling – are you a believer?
After my six readings, I’m definitely a believer. In my last reading with a Clairvoyant, she contacted my daughter who had passed away with a brain tumour at fifty-three. The experience was wonderful. Read all about it.
 
You’ve had experiences with mediums etc. Can you tell us about one of your experiences.
My very first experience was a reading by a Tarot card reader, and she blew me away. Without me opening my mouth she told me I had two men in love with me.

My answer was, “Yes that’s my problem.”

She went onto to describe them and tell me their names and then told me which one to choose. She then described my three children and even told me my daughter was pregnant. She also said I would write a book, which was the last thing I ever wanted to do. Thirteen years later I wrote my first book and have ended up writing three.

 
What can people learn from An Introduction to the Supernatural?
 
The many ways the Supernatural is involved.
What research did you have to do and how long did it take to compile this book?
I did a lot of research to learn all about the methods used by the Supernatural. But it took a long time to find forty volunteers to share their readings with me. I had to approach people, when I was out at all sorts of functions I attended, and ask them if they had ever had their fortunes told. Only two people refused me on the grounds it was private. It took me three years to write this book.

I did try advertising but got no replies.

 

Obviously there are people who don’t believe in the supernatural, is there anything in your book that will appeal to them?

Yes you are right. My husband was my first convert. He said, “How could you disbelieve when you read these experiences.”
 
Are you going to expand on your writings about the supernatural – what’s next for you as an author?
No, I do not plan to write any further books. I think at eighty I’ve done enough.
If you want to find out more about Janet Gant and her book An Introduction to the Supernatural take a look at her page: http://supernaturalexplanations.weebly.com/
Leave a Reply

