The Warrior’s Stone (part two)

Matthew O Duncan has very kindly provided us with another extract from his book The Warrior’s Stone. What do you think?

Katreena picked a wild flower and brought it up to her nose to smell its unique scent. “It is funny. Lately my dreams have felt more real than ever before. I can feel everything; experience tastes and smells I have never known before and…”

“And what?” Roy asked.

“And dare to do or say things I never could when awake.”

“Like what?”

“Well, like talk to a strange man that I have not been formally introduced to, read my favorite book to; look into his eyes and…”

“And?”

“And allow him to see that I find him…,” she still felt the need to choose her words carefully, “…interesting.”

Roy couldn’t help laugh a little bit. “Well, I find you very interesting as well,” he said as he took her hand into his and gently caressed it. “So you are saying that you have some freedoms in this dream world that you don’t have in the real world?”

She pulled her hand away. “Freedoms yes, but I did not say liberties.”

“Would you allow me to pay you a compliment that I might not be able to when we are awake?”

“That depends on the complement.”

“Would you allow me to say that you are beautiful?” she didn’t answer He moved a little closer. “Or that you have the most amazing eyes I have ever seen?” She tried not to smile but could not help it. Yet she still did not answer. “May I tell you how amazed I am at your spirit of generosity and compassion?” He moved even closer and looked into her eyes. “Would I be out of line to tell you how impressed I am at your skills and knowledge? I have never known anyone who knew and understood so much about the world around them and how to use it to their advantage.” Her lips began to tremble as he moved close enough for her to feel his breath on her face. “Would you be horribly offended if I told you that you are the first woman whom I have found so overwhelmingly attractive in many, many years?”

“Sir, I believe you have said enough.” she said feeling quite overwhelmed herself by the complements and moved back a bit.

“That wasn’t an answer to my question.” he said moving closer to her.

“I shall not answer.”

“Then let me ask another. If this is a dream and everything that happens doesn’t really happen, then if I kiss you would the kiss have never happened?”

She thought about it for a moment and then said. “It would be inappropriate for me to kiss you.”

“I didn’t ask you to kiss me.”

“You did not?”

“No, I was asking if you would let it happen if I was to kiss you.”

 You can find out more here

Leave a Reply

